The Weeknd’s New Album, Dawn FM

The Weeknd has released Dawn FM on January 7th, a new album which arrives following the long rollout campaign of the Weeknd’s 2020 album After Hours. Almost two years after putting out After Hours, the Weeknd is back with his fifth studio album, Dawn FM. In the album, After Hours the artist explores the idea of being trapped in homes and fearing the plague that surrounds people. After “After Hours”, the artist explores the idea of transition to normal life with talking about his complex relationship and his mental health on what comes next “Dawn Fm”. Regarding to the new album, he said “ I always imagined it would be like being stuck in traffic waiting to reach the light at the end of the tunnel, and while you’re stuck in traffic, they got a radio station playing in the car, with a radio host guiding you to the light and helping you transition to the other side.”

Canadian actor Jim Carrey is featured throughout the album, serving as narrator in the style of a late-night radio DJ. He broadcast the whole album starting in the opening tract by saying: "You are now listening to 103.5 Dawn FM. You've been in the dark for way too long, it's time to walk into the light and accept your fate with open arms. Scared? Don't worry. We'll be there to hold your hand and guide you through this painless transition. But what's the rush? Just relax and enjoy another hour of commercial-free-yourself music on 103.5 Dawn FM."

The first third of Dawn FM feels like the Weeknd of old style. He sings Depeche Mode-ish with background synths that The Weekend uses all the time. On the later tracts the listener learns how the way we were brought up impacts our relationships later in life, while Carrey poses metaphysical and existential questions. On several songs, the Canadian artist talks of taking responsibility for his relationships and he talks about monogamy on the song“I Heard That You’re Married”. And then, on Dawn’s final sung track, “Less Than Zero,” he admits “I try to hide it, but I know you know me/I try to fight it, but I’d rather be free,” wrapping things up with saying “You tried your best with me, I know.”

Here is the full track list for Dawn FM which features 16 songs:

  1. Dawn FM

  2. Gasoline

  3. How Do I Make You Love Me?

  4. Take My Breath

  5. Sacrifice

  6. A Tale by Quincy

  7. Out of Time

  8. Here We Go… Again

  9. Best Friends

  10. Is There Someone Else?

  11. Starry Eyes

  12. Every Angel Is Terrifying

  13. Don’t Break My Heart

  14. I Heard You’re Married

  15. Less Than Zero

  16. Phantom Regret by Jim


Kaan Kanadaşı