The Smile, Radiohead Side Project, Released a New Song ‘Skrting on the Surface’

Radiohead is an English rock band formed in 1985. The band consists of Thom Yorke (vocals, guitar, piano, keyboards), Jonny Greenwood (lead guitar, keyboards, other instruments) and Colin Greenwood (bass), Ed O'Brien (guitar, backing vocals), and Philip Selway (drums, percussion). Radiohead became a worldwide hit with their debut single "Creep" in 1992 after the release of their debut album, Pablo Honey (1993). They became a landmark for the 90s with their 2nd and 3rd albums. The band announced their break-up in 2020. Old members from Radiohead, Thom Yorke, and Jonny Greenwood debuted a new band (Smile) with the drummer Tom Skinner. The Smile has shared a new track on March 17 called ‘Skrting On The Surface’. The song was first introduced during Glastonbury’s Live At Worthy Farm Livestream event in 2021 and some recent gigs in London. Moreover, the track actually began its life as a Radiohead song but was never released. The Smile’s latest single follows on from the group’s two previously released songs, ‘The Smoke‘ and ‘You’ll Never Work In Television Again‘.

Also, it was recently revealed that Yorke and Greenwood were working on another new and original music, for the sixth and final season of Peaky Blinders that premiered last month. “Thom Yorke and Johnny Greenwood contributed some original stuff,” director Anthony Bryne recently told NME. “I’m over the moon about all of that. Music has always been really important historically, and I was really keen to bring a dramatic score into it. We’re using that much more in this season. It’s a much heavier season so the score is taking things in a very different direction. “It’s always about Tommy [Shelby] and his headspace. That’s what I keep going back to”, he added.


Kaan Kanadaşı